get rid of mites FOR GOOD regime

mamahen82

In the Brooder
9 Years
Aug 29, 2010
Hello. I unknowingly purchased some chickens at the auction last fall that were full of scaley leg mites. I am new to chickens and didn't know to look for this - thought that grey bumpy legs were just part of the barnyardmix breed that they were (blush). I feel HORRIBLE that they lived with it all winter. This spring we've been dipping them in vegetable oil and cleaning the coop, using DE. etc. Their legs are looking pinker.

I recently hatched 15 chicks and will be moving them out to the coop in a few weeks. They are currently in a brooder in our living room. I posted the adult birds for free on Craigslist, (and was honest about the mites) and have several people taking them tomorrow.

So my question is - what regime should I follow to ensure that the coop and run are 100% free of mites before moving the new chicks out to the coop in a few weeks? I am planning on scrubbing down all four walls, ceiling, floor of the coop - what shoudl I add to the water to kill any mites? I also would like to make sure their run/the soil is free of mites - what should I do out there? Sevin dust everything? Normally I do not like using chemicals and try to do things organically but this was a bad case of scaley leg mites. Right now I have a good chance to really clean things up over a few weeks when there are no birds out there, so want to do things right.

Your suggestions, as always, are much appreciated.

Melissa

Have you tried diatemacous (I probably spelled that wrong) earth? I haven't ever had leg mites, but my hens have had mites and fleas before, I just sprinkled diatemacous earth on them for a couple days and that killed the mites/fleas. I cannot recall another time I have had a problem with pests again. Here are some links, by the way; all diatemacous earth is is ground up sedimentary rock. No pesticides. (You can use it for intestinal parasites too, just sprinkle it in their food. )