Google Sketchup Coop Design

ShockValue

Songster
10 Years
Jan 10, 2010
West Sound, Washington
Hi all. Short time viewer, first time poster.
smile.png

I've recently become very interested in the idea of having a few chickens. They will be for eggs and as "pets". Not planning on raising them for meat at this time.
Being the geek that I am, designing and building the coop myself has really intrigued me so I've created a pretty detailed model of the hen-house in Google Sketchup.

Anyone familiar with this program? I'd love another set of eyes on my plans before I actually start to building as I've never done any chicken-business before
smile.png

The broad strokes are this:

3-4 Hens to start out with. Brahmas and Favorelles are currently at the top of my list. But not 100% on anything yet.
4x8 floor plan.
4 nest boxes (probably overkill, but I like my symmetry
smile.png
)
Clear (UV protected) roof.
Linoleum floor
hatches on each side of the house so i can push a broom/mop all the way through.

link to google sketchup model: http://filebin.ca/gfohjw/coop.skp

2hf036d.jpg

16bfsau.jpg