Got my Bator! Question about eggs

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by CK Chickadilly, Oct 6, 2008.

1. CK Chickadilly

CK Chickadilly Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 11, 2008
    West Michigan
    I am so excited. I got my bator today, the Hova-Bator 1588 w/egg turner. I am going to run it for a few days to make sure it works properly.

My question is....I am picking up the eggs from a gal that is close to home, probably about 30 - 45 minutes away. After I transport the eggs home, do I need to let them rest? if so, for how long?

I am new to egg incubating so any incubating advise would be more than welcome! [​IMG]

Thanks!

2. hatchaholic

hatchaholic Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 23, 2008
    South Carolina
    Congrats on your new bator. I got the same one on Friday, and have been running it all weekend trying to work out the kinks. I have a batch of eggs coming this week. I'm so excited!!

3. Jessika

Jessika Chillin' With My Peeps

May 31, 2008
    Eagle Creek, OR
    I love my 1588! First batch in there too. I have a LG still air with turner set up with a few eggs just so I could check it out too. The 1588 is sooooo much easier! [​IMG]

I asked same about the resting.....I was told 6-12 hours...and mostly to get them to room temp so they don't sweat and lose moisture. Plus resting may help egg lining reattach if it was roughly handled. Good luck!

4. CK Chickadilly

Sep 11, 2008
    West Michigan
    kimbpara- what are the kinks so far you have noticed?

Jessika - do you think that even being only 30 or so minutes away, they should still rest? I was hoping that I would be easier on them then the PO [​IMG]

5. shelleyd2008

shelleyd2008 the bird is the word

Sep 14, 2008
    Adair Co., KY
    You could let them rest a while, to regulate the temps, but I don't think they need to settle (unless you take a very bumpy road!) They should be fine...

6. hatchaholic

hatchaholic Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 23, 2008
    South Carolina