Has she gone broody?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by mrstrouty, Mar 1, 2013.

1. mrstrouty

mrstrouty Out Of The Brooder

Sep 4, 2012
    Wilburton,Pa
    Hi, I'm really new to the whole chicken thing and have a few questions. My hen is in her nesting box and not coming out this morning. Her body is placed totally different than when she's just laying an egg. Instead of her wings to her side, she has them spread out as if she's covering the eggs to warm them. If she's trying to hatch the eggs, can anyone tell me how long it takes to hatch an egg and how many hrs a day she needs to actually stay on the nest to incubate them? Thanks in advance for any information you can give me.

2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    There are a lot of typical behaviors for broodies. Flattening in the nest and zoning out is one. They will often be very defensive of the nest and swell up and threaten you if you get close. They normally leave the nest once a day to eat, drink, and poop. That poop is often really large and stinky because they’ve been holding it. They normally walk around puffed up and making a regular pocking sound. All these are typical behaviors but not all broodies do all of them. I’ve also had hens not really serious enough about going broody exhibit a lot of these behaviors.