have hen chicks, and wanting a roo... BUT...

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by lovethepeep, Sep 13, 2008.

1. lovethepeep

lovethepeep Out Of The Brooder

Aug 3, 2008
    will all my hens have bare backs? EWWWW!!

and...

are most roo's aggressive and angry?

thanks... I am new at this [​IMG].

2. KellyHM

KellyHM Overrun With Chickens

Sep 10, 2008
    Lakeland, FL
    Not all roos are mean. I have a great EE roo that is a big baby. He was raised from a chick and still runs to me to get food and lets me pick him up and pet him. I have 2 hens and he mates with them, but not excessively and they don't have bare backs. I would recommend raising one from a chick though.

3. Omran

Omran Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 26, 2008
    Bagdad KY
    Hi, Hens will have bare back only if you have too many roosters,I have 12 hen and one rooster and I will keep it this way,I like the rooster because he is watching for the girls in case of danger,and I see some of the hens won't allow him to be mean if they don't want him.At the beginning he was trying to be mean to everybody including me till I read a post on BYC(thanks BYC Members) and dealed with him.He tried to attac me one day so I got in the pen and grabed him from his legs and holded him for few minutes to show him who ruels,I did that for few days and now I swear he is respecting me and he knows that he has to behave or he will be grounded,sounds silly but I did it anyway.Find you a young one about 4 months old and you will be ok.
    Best luck.
    Omran

4. LilRalphieRoosmama

LilRalphieRoosmama Officially Quacked

Oct 15, 2007
    Elyria, OH
    We have one roo and 15 hens and most of the hens have bare backs. We raised them all from day-old chicks and while he is ok with DBF, he is not ok with me.

I think it really depends on the roo.

5. Mahonri

Mahonri Urban Desert Chicken Enthusiast Premium Member

May 14, 2008
    North Phoenix
    My Coop