Heat level question(coturnix quail)

NY Coturnix

Songster
May 12, 2020
New York
I plan to start my 3rd hatch later this week, I'm new to this. My first 2 went awful. 19 of 60 and 9 of 35. In both cases I had fully developed chicks that just didn't hatch. The first time I cut the eggs and the second time I could tell by the weight of the egg that it had a chick in it. First hatch I bought a cheap digital thermometer(it was on sale by the register at Valu Home) and it matched with my Little Giant auto turn forced air incubator so I thought I was good. Second hatch I bought one from Walmart that had the temp and humidity. This one was close on temp but the humidity was off so I just made sure I had some water in the incubator and filled it at lock down. My mother has had a couple very successful hatches with chickens and told me I needed get a hydrometer and sent me a link for the one she uses off of amazon. It came the other day and it appears my thermometer in my incubator was reading low by about 3 degrees. What I thought was 99.5 was really more like 96.8. I've been running it for 2 days now and I've got 3 different thermometers that are within half a degree of 99.5 and my little giant is reading 103. I guess my big question is has anyone else experienced their incubator being this far off and would this have caused my chicks to develop but not hatch. What has me baffled is both hatches did have healthy chicks hatch between 17 and 21 days. Did I just get lucky with those?

Any advise is appreciated.

Ron

Good morning. It is not unusual for the temps to be off on the incubator. I use a plain old outdoor type thermometer in my bator.

The hygrometer needs to be calibrated before you use it. Have you done that yet?

No I haven't and to be honest didn't know I could. Its just a little digital one. Is this something I can figure out to do on youtube or is there a trick to it? Also would chicks develop at 96?

Thank you for the quick response.