Hello fellow chicken keepers !

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Shabana, Jul 31, 2013.

1. Shabana

Shabana Chillin' With My Peeps

Hello !!

My name is Shabana and I am very new to chicken keeping.
    Currently I have 10 pure breed bantam hens, 3 "big girls" that I rescued, and a small flock of Lemon millefleur sablepoots.

My 2 orpingtons are currently sat on some silkie and andulasian eggs which are due around Aug 17th and as this is my first time raising chicks I'm pretty nervous !

I have uploaded some pics on my profile and will get some more over the next few days :)

On a personal level, I'm a married, mother of 4. We live in a small country village in south yorkshire, England.
    It's lovely to have access to all this information and good advice and I look forward to reading and learning as much as I can:D

Shabana

2. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings, Shabana, and [​IMG]! Happy you joined us! Good luck to you and your chickens!

3. weezilgirl

weezilgirl Out Of The Brooder

Jun 26, 2012
    Hi, Shabana: I live in Oklahoma and just have one hen now. I had 4 and they all lived to be 7-8 years old, which is unusual. I have Louise left. She is 7 and has laid one egg a day every day since I got her. She is a leghorn.

I am ordering 7 new chicks. Mostly rare because I have 3 grandchildren and they want "fancy" hens. All of my hens have been very lovable and tame.

I am in awe that you have so many. Do your banties lay? I am totally unfamiliar with them. I do think they are awfully cute.

I also have other pets and I live on a ranch where there are coyotes, wolves, bears, panthers, bobcats, raccoons, possums and, unfortunately, snakes. I killed a water moccasin last week and am still freaked out. It was on my back patio! I have also killed copperheads.

I'm glad you are here. I don't come very often but the people seem nice enough.

Take care, Pat

4. Shabana