1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hello from PA!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by LeeAH, Jun 11, 2016.

1. LeeAH

LeeAH New Egg

Jun 11, 2016
    Hi all,
    I am a complete novice to chicken husbandry. I rescued a barred rock rooster that was roaming the neighborhood. It appears that he ran away from home because the other roosters were picking on him, ended up about 2 miles+ from where he started! Anyway, he is about 7 months old and a real sweetie, follows me everywhere, sits on my lap...Yeah, I'm spoiling him.

I do have a question for you all. He seems to be eating and drinking and acting just fine, looks healthy, clear eyes, alert...but, he is breathing through his mouth a lot and there is a clear discharge coming from his nostrils. Should I be concerned?

Thanks in advance for any advice!

2. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Hello there and welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

How nice you could rescue this rooster! You are too kind. [​IMG]

However it sounds like he has a respiratory infection to which he needs antibiotics. Chickens don't catch colds per say, but when they get respiratory infections it generally kills them.

I would get him started on something like Duramycin or Sulfadimethoxine. Some feed stores will carry Duramycin so I would call around and see if you can locate any. If you have to order it on line, it might be too late.

Sounds like you are definitely spoiling him! Keep us posted and I hope you can get him started on meds soon! :)

3. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome