Hello from WI

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by WI chick, Oct 31, 2015.

1. WI chick

WI chick New Egg

Oct 29, 2015
    northern Wisconsin
    Hi everyone, I am new to chickens since May of this year. It all started when we heard rumors of predicted egg shortages in the fall due to the culling of millions of chickens in WI and MN. My husband and I discussed getting a few chickens to avoid the high egg prices. I thought, How hard could it be? First, have husband build coop, then put out food and water, and finally, collect fresh eggs. Right? It wasn't too long after our discussion that I was in our local hardware store and found out that the chicks were on sale. Buy one get one free! So I said, "I'll take four white, two of the speckled and two of the black chicks, please." At $2.60 a piece I was going to have a lot of cheap eggs! Well, almost 6 months later, and many visits to BYC trying to find out answers to questions such as when are they going to start laying eggs? Why do I find yolks under the roost? What do I do about the awful smell that chicken dung creates? and why is my hen pacing? and the list goes on... I am now a chicken lover and have to be careful not to always be telling my latest chicken tales to friends and family lest they think I'm now a chicken freak. But here at BYC, I see I am not alone. There are a lot of chicken freaks out there just like me! :hugs Lori

PS "the four white" turned out to be Delaware Whites. "The two speckled" I later found out are Silver laced Wyandottes and "the two black" are also Wyandottes.:)

2. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome

Glad you could join the flock! It sounds like you are really enjoying your chicken adventures. I'm so pleased to hear BYC has helped you so much already. Be sure to ask any questions that you may have, everyone here to help and very friendly.