Hello! I've got flock creep -- from 6 to 55+ birds in four years

gotta have my peeps!

In the Brooder
8 Years
Jun 5, 2011
Rappahannock, Virginia
Thank you to all who make this site such a great resource. I have been stopping by for a couple years now -- I can't remember how I learned about it.

In '07 we built our first chicken house for six Red Star hens. We bought the girls from a local organic farm -- they sell off their flock each fall after one laying season. The girls roamed our backyard and settled in nicely. I was hooked.

Over the past four years, our flock size has grown as our goals evolved. The few excess eggs we had at first were not enough for neighborhood demand -- the answer: get more chickens! I bought chicks from another farm that was having predator problems and raised them in a makeshift shelter outside (it was a hot August). I helped out a friend and rescued some of her layers from another dire situation. In 2010, I ordered 35 day-old chicks, some to raise for meat and some for eggs. Plus 15 Naragansett turkey poults! And late in 2010, we rescued six Guineas from a suburban home where dogs were becoming a problem.

So, here I sit on the bench at my desk with a Hova-Bator incubator next to me with eggs inside it peeping at me: two pips, one knocking on the shell and five other eggs that are taking their time (plus one turkey egg, long story). Outside, nestled or roosting are:
*35 laying hens: Ameraucana, Black Australorp, Speckled Sussex, White Leghorn, Red Star, and Welsummer
*1 Welsummer roo
*1 Welsummer hen with two chicks (hatched last week)
*1 Speckled Sussex hen with four chicks (hatched around 5/17)
*6 Naragansett turkey hens
--2 are jointly rearing three poults (hatched around 5/3)
--2 are setting on a nest
--2 are laying
*1 Naragansett turkey tom (the proud papa)
*5 Guineas, one male and four laying hens