Help ASAP!

Josh45640

Songster
9 Years
Apr 1, 2011
SE Ohio
This is my first attempt at hatching quail. I didn't think they were due until the 12th but they're hatching now! They are in the turner, should I let them hatch this way or risk it by taking it out and putting the remaining eggs on the wire? I haven't even got a chance to add some humidity for the hatch because I was gonna do that in the morning when I locked them down. I have unplugged the turner, but Thisbe it. Help!

I would move them to the hatcher if it was me. Some may say not to but that's what I would do. And I would do it as fast and carefully as possible.
I always have some eggs hatch out early and late. Other words it's always taken several days for them to hatch. There is usually a day where they are popping out like popcorn.
When I go a day without an egg hatching I candle them. Normally they have died before hatching for numerous reasons. If they have leg problems they may pip but not zip out because they can't turn in the egg. I have 2 LG's for bators so thats why I suppose that happens. Keeping the temps and especially humidity stable is impossible, for me anyway. Winter is always hardest for me.

Good luck.

Last edited:
Thanks. I had my wife help me transfer them from the turner to the hatcher so we could work faster. I had 77 eggs and so far I have 7 babies out and 13 more pipped. I hope these make it. I've had a lot of people wanting to buy them .

That's what I wanted to do, but I have the hovabator yellow turner with the holes inn the bottom of the cups. They were getting stuck innthe holes upside down and they were crawling under the turner and getting stuck. So far they all still seem to be doing ok. Thanks for the help!