help, egg pipped backwards, kinda

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by pinkado, May 10, 2011.

1. pinkado

pinkado Out Of The Brooder

May 10, 2011
    hey all, so after fretting alot, 1 of my 3 duck eggs, finally pipped, but, not the way i was expecting, he did it near the pointy end, now, he was the one with less movement and i know he didnt break the membrane, these little fellas are testing me, hee heeim going to break the membrane where he pipped if he dont , but i will wait a while, seewhat he do

2. clayb226

clayb226 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 31, 2011
    Missouri
    I do not know, I am a beginner, but I just had 7 chicks hatch a week ago; the first one pipped near the point end. It was the cutest of all of them, but it just died today. It did not grow any, and I watch it eat and drink and poop. It also could not stand up very long, or very good. This is from my only hatch experience, round two in now. I hope you have different results, I do not know if it had to do with the chick being inverted or not.

3. Pathfinders

Pathfinders Overrun With Chickens

Jan 25, 2008
    Northern KY
    I would wait a while and see how he does. It's always best not to fiddle with things at this stage.

Good luck!

4. pinkado

May 10, 2011
    well the chick is def backwards, lol, so the poor thing, i felt bad, you see last night it was active, and today, not so much, i feel bad for it, coz it couldnt break the membrane, though it cracked the shell, but not the membrane, so i very very gently did it, just a tiny slit, tiny tiny, and sure enough, one huge breath and now its resting
    as for the other two