Help identify?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Shadowgrass, Oct 1, 2010.

1. Shadowgrass

Shadowgrass Out Of The Brooder

Oct 1, 2010
    Hi, I am fairly new to chicken raising, have a flock of 6 RIR hens, 7 weeks old. The last few days at work, oddly enough, this chicken was hanging out in front of our building. I placed a found ad online, but haven't heard anything. So, I was thinking that maybe it was a roo, or someone thought it was a roo and let it go. Dunno.

Well, I netted it and was going to bring it home, separated for a while. I don't even know if it is a bantam or a standard, what breed, or approximate age. If someone could help I would really appreciate it. Thanks!

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I know these pictures aren't the best, but the person holding it for me was scared. There are no tell-tale roo feathers. Looks like a leghorn heen tail, sort of upward pointing. It is blonde, not quite buff color.

Last edited: Oct 1, 2010
  2. txcarl1258

txcarl1258 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 11, 2010
    Pleasanton
    Its a hen, looks like an OEG(Old English Game Bantam). Could you post a pic of her standing by herself and I could give you a better answer.

3. SilverPhoenix

SilverPhoenix Bantam Fanatic

Dec 15, 2009
    Penn Valley, CA
    These pictures are a little hard to tell much by, but I'm almost certain that's an old english game bantam. Perhaps she's a red pyle OEGB? Look that up and see what you think. [​IMG] She's cute!

4. muddyhorse

muddyhorse Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 11, 2009
    Bloomsdale, MO
    what a cute OEGB hen she is adorable [​IMG] man the only thing I've had show up was a guinea and it hasn't shut up since it got here

5. Shadowgrass

Shadowgrass Out Of The Brooder

Oct 1, 2010