Help me with this confusion of OE & EE!

TheHappyHen21

Chirping
Sep 14, 2015
Russell, Ny
So this is my 1st year of raising Olive Eggers and Easter Eggers and Black copper Marans. I raise chicks to sell and sell eggs for consumption.

MY QUESTION IS!

I keep my chickens separated, right now there not as there still young. There only about 4 months old. But we are in the process of putting up a large fence with dividers, ok so heres the question.

1.) I like to keep one roo with 4-6 girls
2.) Do i keep a Olive Egger Rooster with Olive Egger Hens? Or will that make different color eggs? Doesnt really matter.
3.) Do i keep EE roo with EE hens? what colors come out when the same mix is bred together?

SO CONFUSEDDDD
he.gif

Please someone explain it to me easy, i cant very well understand what the internet says, im new to this breeds so please bear with me! I have Jersey Giants and Brahmas and there not so confusing as the OE and the EE!

1. 1 cock to 4-6 hens is fine for breeding, provided the cock is well mannered and is not stressing them. If he's not well mannered, you don't want him for breeding anyways. Even the most gentle cockerel can sometimes be clumsy, causing feather loss. As long as you are seeing only feather loss and no one is acting stressed, this issue can be fixed using hen saddles.

2. F1 OE x F1 OE will give a lot of egg colors. Here's a chart that may help you: