help! need advice on integrating different flocks!

kaileen20

In the Brooder
5 Years
Oct 14, 2014
Okay so here goes.. And I think I'm in trouble for over shopping for chickens at the flock swap Saturday.. First off, I have a 5x6x6 coop and a 10x30 run i just built,i have 4 hens in a separate coop and 4 chicks in the brooder in my garage. So the coop I just built is untouched. went to a flock swap Saturday and got 8 hens (which I think the coop and run is big enough for them, but you can tell me if its not, I'm still new to this) so i got 2 buff orpingtons, 2 Easter eggers, and the other 4 are barnyard mixes, the only 2 buff orpingtons came from the same flock but the rest i got from different people each... I know I probably shouldn't have done that, i wanted a variety of breeds though. Anyways everyone seems to be getting along okay, just minor pecking but these two buff Orpingtons are huge bullies!!!!! I always thought the orpingtons where very docile.. Things get really bad when thet roost at night and when they are laying. One of the buffs will literally stand guard at the entrance Of the coop and won't let anyone else in at all during the day!! Then last night I peeked in on them, and one of the buffs was kicking the Easter egger butt, she wanted one whole roost all to her self and the poor Easter egger was taking her blows while she just viciously Pecked her hard over and over again and trying to shove her off and pouncing on her!! I didn't see blood because it was getting dark I didn't want to intervene, but she pulled out a bunch if feathers. What should I do? Should I get rid if these Orpingtons? Or just wait it out and see if they end up getting along? I worry about them always going this, like guarding the coop and not let anyone else lay eggs, they even guard the food really bad.. Its taking away from them being normal chickens doing what chickens do.. I have 6 waterers and feeders out, but that's what they have been doing all day is bullying all the ot