Help! Should I separate baby chicks from mother hen?

Newtoraisingchicks

In the Brooder
Aug 30, 2023
This is my first time hatching chicks. A few weeks ago our White Orpington went broody and started collecting eggs. As other hens layed over the following weeks, my kids put all the eggs under her. We weren't really sure what would happen or how to go about it. We weren't really keeping track of how many days she had been broody, but it had been 2 or 3 weeks. We left for a weekend trip and came home to find a fuzzy black chick in the nesting box with her. We moved Mama and the chick along with the other 14 eggs she had been sitting on, into a brooder box in the garage to keep them separate from the rest of the flock. She kept sitting on the eggs but no more eggs hatched. The chick was already fluffy and active and looked to be a couple of days old when we found it. The next day, our hen started losing interest in sitting on eggs. We had one egg that got a hairline crack in it when we were moving the nest (in hindsight I wish I would have just left them all alone in the coop but I was worried about the other chickens attacking baby chicks). The cracked egg began to seep a small amount of blood. We candled all the eggs and found 3 that were unfertilized. All the rest we kept trying to encourage the mama hen to sit on. One of the eggs pipped and we kept trying to get the hen to keep it warm but she seemed to have lost interest in sitting on eggs and was focused on raising her chick. When we put the pipped egg under her, she attacked the pipped egg and pecked a nickel sized hole into it before I was able to rescue it and take it away from her. She then smashed open the egg with the hairline crack in it and began ripping apart the dead chick inside it and feeding it to her chick. She was very aggressively pecking at it and ripping it apart. It was disturbing. At this point we removed all the eggs and tried to keep them warm ourselves. The chick in the pipped egg seemed t