Help! Speckled Sussex won't lay

arnault

In the Brooder
Apr 3, 2017
Northeast Mississippi
Hi, I'm new to backyard chickens. I moved to the country a year ago and decided to raise chickens for the eggs and to give my boys something productive to do. I have 3 speckled Sussex that are around 9 or 10 months. I got them when they just started laying well and they did lay about 2-3 eggs every other day. However, about 2 weeks ago, they have not laid one egg. I noticed they started slowing down not long after I got them and put them in their new home. I feed them 22% layer feed and I give them some meal worms from time to time and even given the oyster shells. I've bought fake eggs and placed in their nest about 3 days ago. They all look very good, high energy and very healthy. I let them out during the day to forage. They've never ran out of water. Please help, I'm not sure what to do.

Have you looked around your foraging area to make sure they haven't found a spot they like better than the nest box? Maybe they are laying under a bush, or somewhere.

My experiences with speckles Sussex is they are average to poor layers who take many breaks and lay few eggs after their initial start. I would suggest a better breed. You are certainly feeding them well. I personally won't get them anymore.

My experiences with speckles Sussex is they are average to poor layers who take many breaks and lay few eggs after their initial start. I would suggest a better breed. You are certainly feeding them well. I personally won't get them anymore.