Hen being over mated Buttonquail

Sophia_luvbug

Chirping
May 14, 2022
I am new to Buttonquail this is my first time having them I have 6 in a 75 gallon breeder I hatched them from eggs and I had three male and three female which isn’t the best scenario my one female is losing feathers on her head and her back I have Made saddles for chickens to prevent this I tried putting one on a quail it didn’t work is there a pattern I can get to make one perfectly as of now I might be able to separate them but I really don’t think I have the means to at the moment and slaughtering any of them is not an option for me is there something I can put on her to deter the males

Attachments

• C720FA3D-9FC3-4B25-8376-617E6A14DFF5.jpeg
    C720FA3D-9FC3-4B25-8376-617E6A14DFF5.jpeg
    382.7 KB · Views: 10
Can you seperate them?
I talked to my grandfather and we have a spare 40 gallon tall tank in the basement it’s mainly height and no floor space my next question would be do I separate all the females from the males forever or just let her heal and try to re-introduce

You need more females, or the same thing will happen. Do quail mate seasonally?
I’m not sure this is my first time having Buttonquail I couldn’t find anything on the Internet about it though it seems like you’ve had this platform longer than me is there anyone you can tag who Specializes in quail and if I separate them do I separate all the females from the males forever or just her to let her heal up

I’m not sure this is my first time having Buttonquail I couldn’t find anything on the Internet about it though it seems like you’ve had this platform longer than me is there anyone you can tag who Specializes in quail and if I separate them do I separate all the females from the males forever or just her to let her heal up