hen leaking urates - looks like vent gleet - can you help me?

jdu999

Chirping
5 Years
Jul 20, 2015
I am fairly new to caring for chickens and I have a 16 month old hen who has symptoms that look like vent gleet. I first discovered the issue two months ago and since then she has been through a course of both nystatin and antibiotics plus every home remedy I could find on the internet (epsom salts, probiotics, vinegar, molasses, etc. etc.) and her symptoms have not changed. Oh, she has also been wormed and the vet checked her for worms and she does not have them. One thing that I am pretty confident about at this point is that it is not a yeast infection and not diarrhea of her feces. Here's what it is - her vent leaks urates which get her butt all wet and irritated and red and crust up around her vent and on her feathers. Otherwise she does not act drastically sick but she is losing weight. She is a great layer of sometimes super large eggs and is still laying.I can't find anything on the internet that talks about this problem specifically. Can anyone help me? I want to help her so badly and I am nearing despair. I would be so grateful if anyone can help.