Hen not eating

KathyK

Songster
10 Years
Dec 10, 2009
Liberty Hill, TX
I am a newbie. I have 11 chickens that are 19 weeks old. One is not eating much at all. Her crop feels empty. She is kind of lethargic. It's very hot here- mid 90's. All the others are eating fine, but all of their keels are boney. I have dewormer in the water today (Wazine 17). Have not dewormed in the past. They are in a tractor that gets moved twice a week. Eating Flock Raiser (20% protien). Previously were on Golden Oak grower feed.
I'm thinking of separating her to make sure she is getting enough food. Should I put her in a cage in my garage which is a bit cooler than outside, or put the cage inside the shaded run with the other birds. I want to stress her as little as possible.
Any ideas on what might be going on and what else I should be doing?
What, if anything special should I be feeding her?

1) What type of bird , age and weight. Barred Rock Standard, Hen, 19 weeks, unknown weight
2) What is the behavior, exactly. Sleeps a lot, walking around okay, eats some, but not much.
3) How long has the bird been exhibiting symptoms? Since yesterday
4) Is there any bleeding, injury, broken bones or other sign of trauma. No
5) What happened, if anything that you know of, that may have caused the situation. Unknown
6) What has the bird been eating and drinking, if at all. Drinking water sometimes has ACV in it. Eating Purina Flock Raiser
7) How does the poop look? Normal? Bloody? Runny? etc. Normal, I think. Watery around solid green stuff.
8) What has been the treatment you have administered so far? Wazine today.
9 ) What is your intent as far as treatment? For example, do you want to treat completely yourself, or do you need help in stabilizing the bird til you can get to a vet? Would like to do this myself. I don't know if there is a chicken vet around. Looking for one now.
10) If you have a picture of the wound or condition, please post it. It may help.