Hens laying fertilized eggs, but not sitting on them

hollycs

In the Brooder
6 Years
Apr 4, 2013
Dallas Texas
I have noticed that the eggs from my buffs have all been fertilized when I crack them. I have still been collecting the eggs every day though because none of the hens seem to be sitting on them. They are out of the coop all day. Should I leave the eggs alone, and if so for how long? They are laying 3 to 4 a day and they ALL lay in the same place (not their nesting boxes which my dear husband worked so hard on :( ) so they tend to stack up fast. I am new to the chicken world so I really have no idea what to do in this situation. We would like to hatch baby chicks, but I don't want to have to deal with an incubator. On a side note, they are 8 months old if that has any bearing on the subject ;) Any advice would be appreciated.

I have noticed that the eggs from my buffs have all been fertilized when I crack them. I have still been collecting the eggs every day though because none of the hens seem to be sitting on them. They are out of the coop all day. Should I leave the eggs alone, and if so for how long? They are laying 3 to 4 a day and they ALL lay in the same place (not their nesting boxes which my dear husband worked so hard on :( ) so they tend to stack up fast. I am new to the chicken world so I really have no idea what to do in this situation. We would like to hatch baby chicks, but I don't want to have to deal with an incubator. On a side note, they are 8 months old if that has any bearing on the subject ;) Any advice would be appreciated.

Mine laid for 6 months and then when they turned a year old 2 became broody. I agree with Fred though, it just happens,..... or Not.....