Hi! First Time Chicken Owner from NH :D

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by ameraucanaluv98, Mar 23, 2013.

1. ameraucanaluv98

ameraucanaluv98 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 23, 2013
    This is my first time owning chickens, well actually, my mom used to have chickens when I was around five or six, but I didn't take care of them and they weren't actually mine so... Anyways, I have been wanting chickens for the past two years now but my mom always said no, but finnally she has allowed for me to get some yaaay! I have been logging all their weight and hours I have been taking care of them.This is because I am a member of FFA and am in Agriculture (I'm a freshman :3). So yay I've been having so much fun just whatching them and picking them up and feeding them and everything! I only have 6 chicks, but am getting 6 Ameraucana chicks in 3 weeks! I have two breeds of chickens.I have now are Bantam chickens and pullets, which means they are a girl right? How can you tell?
    [​IMG]
    This is what I set up. We have horses, and have a left over water trough, so I just put them in here because that's what they were in at Tractor Supply. I put the chicken wire over it so my cat won't jump in lol, and put the boxes they came in in there so they have shelter c: It's my second day owning them, and they are a week old
    [​IMG]
    The lightest Bantam is Ariel and she is over by the feeder, the darkest Bantam is Dutchess, and the other one is Annabelle (or Arnold because it has a big fluffy comb so it might be a rooster?) The smallest Pullet is laying down, thats Twilight (no not because of the movies >..<) the biggest one is Tank, she is also laying down, and the Pullet closest to the feeder and standing up is Trixie. EDIT: I just learned that pullets are female chicks, so I have no clue what the black chicks are then, and I don't even know what Bantams are, if there are different types or somthing! HELP PLEASE! Thank you :3

Last edited: Mar 23, 2013