1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hi from Australia

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by linnieg, Jan 31, 2014.

1. linnieg

linnieg New Egg

Jan 31, 2014
    I am fairly new to the world of chickens, have had the usual backyard few layers but just today I picked up a rooster that needed a new home and also 2 hens, Now I have 6 hens and a rooster.

The rooster has terrible legs and after looking at pictures I am sure he has scaly mite, poor fellow, so I am going to put vasoline on his legs but will also post a pic of his legs :( tomorrow.

will I have to treat all the girls as well??
    I also have 4 guinea fowl and 3 geese. Am really looking forward to being part of the group here and hope I can learn heaps to help my feathered family.

2. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    If the new birds aren't in quarantine - you probably should treat everyone - as it will spread. It might be best to post on the Australian thread - I don't know that you would have the same products in your country as we do in the US.

"Australia - six states and one funny little island."- we have many, members from down under.

3. ChooksDownUnder

ChooksDownUnder New Egg

Oct 23, 2013
    Hello I'm an Aussie Bird myself here in Melbourne. Drumstick Diva is right to suggest that we have different products here in Australia to that of the USA.
    I have had enormous trouble with mites in my flock and have come up with a treatment plan that seems to work well.
    You will need to treat both the birds and the house.