High Altitude (6500ft) Meat Bird

ItsRachelle

Chirping
Jun 22, 2022
Apologies in advance for the long-winded, multipurpose thread.

1 - Bird of choice
I have been digging around and found that the most common/suggested meat bird is the Cornish X but they don't seem to do well in high altitudes. I hope to start learning a bit about raising chickens for meat, but I am still very new to raising chickens at all (like 1 week with a fully grown/settled flock of 10 beautiful egg-laying hens and 1 rooster). I intend to do quite a bit of researching and preparing before getting meat birds, but not sure what type I should go for, if not the Cornish cross. I am at about 6500ft in elevation, so do not want to suffer too many losses, but also do not want to go for something with a long time before processing or that is on the smaller side.

2- Raising with my existing flock
How do people go about introducing new birds to their coop/run without disrupting their existing egg-laying birdies? I am trying not to overthink it, but also want to be sure I am keeping the existing ladies happy and that all of the birds will have enough space/minimize any territorial disputes/etc..

Any advice? Thank you all for being so helpful

I’m currently raising my first batch of 50 Cornish X meat chicks and I live in the mountains at 6,000 ft elevation. So far they have all done really well for me. I ordered them from a hatchery online and they were shipped across the country and all 50 arrived in good shape. Mine are 4 weeks old, so about halfway until they will be processed, but they are able to forage and jump around on things pretty well still at this point.

My oversight - I assumed you would be housing the meat chicks separately. My advice for introducing chicks to the main flock would apply best to breeds you intend to raise to maturity. CornishX grow so incredibly fast and heavy, they are ready for slaughter by 8-10 weeks. And they can't easily get away from a bullying hen.