Horse People!! - Oldenburgs.....

Sassymygirl

Miss Equestrian
11 Years
Sep 16, 2008
Carencro, Louisiana
There is this Oldenburg gelding at my barn, Ricky Bobby. And I know they are REALLY good at showjumping and Dressage. Well, I was gonna ask my riding teacher if I could train for the rest of the year on him. He's 17.2hh, and a very gentle horse. I'm 5'7" and I've been riding for 6-7 years...His owner sold him to the barn because he was to big for her and she would keep falling off. So I'm wondering, whats your opinion on them? Would he be to much for me? I've ridden many other tall, bouncy horses.

(Ask about anything, if you need for information)

ETA: A pic, this isn't him, but he looks just like it.
15858_oldenburg-picture-3.jpg

Last edited:
The way I figure, a fall is a learning experience
smile.png
If you go off, you should learn something.

Ask away, a horse is a horse of course. The more you ride, the more you learn!

ETA: I've known a lot of Oldenbergs, and other warmbloods (the other half of the farm I grew up on was a dressage farm). I was lucky to ride many of them when the boarders needed someone that would exercise them for free. I didn't really distinguish too much between the different warmbloods, just individual horses.

For BIG movement, we had a Kladruber the owner let me often ride....now THAT was movement!

Last edited:
It really all depends on if you can handle the horse, his level of training, your level of skill, and a number of other obvious factors. If you think you can handle him at the current time I would give it a trial period to see if he is something you enjoy riding. That way you are not locked into riding something that is beyond your level or something that you simply don’t enjoy riding.