Hot water in the sun

ofar81

Hatching
Jul 11, 2023
Hi. I am new to raising chickens. I have the water container in their run placed where there is shade. However, when I let them out of their run (to free range) they sometimes may come accross a container that has water in it or a puddle that has been in the sun all day and therefore the water in it is very hot. This got me thinking: would they try drinking this hot water and accidentally burn their mouth/throat by taking a gulp before realizing it is hot? Or are they 'smart' enough to sense that the water is too hot and therefore not try to drink it?
I realize my question may be a bit hard to answer... but I'm asking if anyone has had a similar situation and observed how the chickens behave towards hot water (avoid it... or try it and get burnt before learning their lesson.... or get burn and not learn their lesson...etc...)
I would appreciate any info or observations on this topic.
Thank you.

For standing water to be hot enough to cause pain or injury, the water would not be standing.
Don't worry about it. :]
I'm sorry but I don't understand what you mean by " the water would not be standing". I personally have burned my hands by trying to wash then from a garden hose that was laying in the sun and had water in it (I didn't realize it was that hot till I put my hands under the water and it was scalding hot!!! Just from the sun.

You don't have a location listed, but that info would be helpful to know your climate. Where I am, I get it. We too have hose water that gets hot enough to scald. Heck, the water that had been sitting for a day in our in-the-shade bucket (in the coop), I measured at 101.4 F last week. The water from our hose (when first turned on) is considerably hotter than that because of the physics of being confined in a hose (no air).