How cold is too cold?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by fluffychicksmomma, May 19, 2010.

1. fluffychicksmomma

fluffychicksmomma Out Of The Brooder

Mar 19, 2010
    Still a newbie here, but I guess my chicks aren't babies anymore. We have 9 Silkies, 2 months old. They are not out of the house 24/7 because their coop is not done yet, just a fenced in run. I have them out today, but its only around 60 degrees. Its partly cloudy with sun shining off and on. I just don't know if that is too cool, (we are having an unusually cold and wet spring here, normally its in the 80's by now), so they still spend a lot of time in the house (they are always in from evening on). I still even have the heat lamp on sometimes. I hate to keep them inside, not only are they kinda cramped, they are stinking me to death in my livingroom, LOL! Any advice?

2. chickenboy7c2d

chickenboy7c2d Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 10, 2010
    Surrey, England, UK
    put the heat lamp on in the coop, then wean them off it

3. fluffychicksmomma

Mar 19, 2010
    I don't have a coop yet, just the chicken run without electricity right now. We are working on the coop, and I plan to put a heat lamp inside when its finished because we still have some pretty cool nights here, but I am just trying to decide if they are okay outside in this temp with only partial sun. I can go outside without a jacket, but I am usaully much warmer than everyone else so its hard for me to judge. Hmmm....I just called the temp., its only 59.....

4. elmo

elmo Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2009
    DFW
    If you're talking about letting your chicks outdoors during the day, you can just observe them. When they're too cold, they'll peep loudly in that unmistakeable way they do. That's their cue to their mother hen (in your case, you) to warm them up.

5. ryanhodapp

ryanhodapp Chillin' With My Peeps

May 5, 2010
    St. Louis