How complicated is the celadon gene.

EmmaRainboe

🙄🤚💙Duckie💜😩🤚
Jul 30, 2020
Washington
Newbie here, never owned quail before, but in the process of preparing.

So I’m interested in getting into Celadon in the future.

I will probably begin with non celadon though. So this is a bit away.

But I’m wondering how complicated the celadon gene is? Is it a recessive gene?

If so, would a female who lays celadon automatically have two celadon genes?

And for males, I assume test breeding would be in order to confirm/deny two celadon genes.

If you bred a possible homozygous celadon male to a known homozygous female, if any offsprings didn’t lay celadon then the male would be known to be heterozygous correct?

Can celadon still appear with only one celadon gene?

And do two celadon genes cut out the possibility for whatever genes cause non celadon coturnix eggs?

Or can a bird be homozygous for celadon but still carry whatever genes cause the other eggs?

Stupid questions, I know. Feel free to laugh, thanks! :D

But I’m wondering how complicated the celadon gene is? Is it a recessive gene?

Yes, it's autosomal recessive.

If so, would a female who lays celadon automatically have two celadon genes?

Correct.

And for males, I assume test breeding would be in order to confirm/deny two celadon genes.

If you bred a possible homozygous celadon male to a known homozygous female, if any offsprings didn’t lay celadon then the male would be known to be heterozygous correct?

Yep, that's right.

Can celadon still appear with only one celadon gene?

Oddly enough, I actually HAVE had a heterozygous hen lay a bluish egg when she first started laying. Then she laid normal colored eggs.

Yes, it's autosomal recessive.

Correct.

Yep, that's right.

Oddly enough, I actually HAVE had a heterozygous hen lay a bluish egg when she first started laying. Then she laid normal colored eggs.
26B68378-F3FA-498B-B683-EC7C09DB33E7.jpeg