How deep should raised beds be?

yippee

Songster
7 Years
Aug 25, 2014
Arlington, TX
Hello all. I am looking to revamp my garden some this year. I have been doing a container garden for many years out of 5 gallon buckets with good success. However many of my buckets are brittle from sun damage and starting to fall apart, so I was considering starting to convert over to raised beds instead. I am planning to price some options out tomorrow to decide what will be best. I am considering building one from cedar lumber or possibly a galvanized stock tank. Since I would be building with the lumber, I could essentially make them whatever height I wanted them to be. On the stock tanks they look to come in 12" or 24" heights. Just from quickly looking into it, I find a lot of people saying 12" is good for a raised bed. Then I see some people say tomatoes need more like 24" for their root systems while other people say 24" is too deep and you would need to fill some space with empty milk jugs or something similar to kill some of the space to save from having to fill it all with soil. I was just wanting to get some info from you fine folks to get a better idea on what I should be looking for. I normally do a couple of tomato plants, some various pepper plants, a cucumber plant, zucchini, squash, okra plant, and possibly something else if I am overlooking anything. Do y'all think a 12" would work well for those or is the 24" really where I need to be looking?

Thank you.

Where are you located? General info bc it helps understand your weather. It is a Garden thread, after all, so we are interested!

We have 11 raised beds for a total of approx 600sq ft of planting. Then we have a large 20'x30' bed for another approx 600 sq ft of garden space.