How do I look after an early hatched duckling?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by callduckqueen, Jul 23, 2011.

1. callduckqueen

callduckqueen New Egg

Jul 23, 2011
    Hi

I think I did a really stupid thing but I'm a novice. My call duck sucessfully hatched 3 eggs after a long 32 days! I could hear that a 4th egg was alive but no cracks were showing. On day 34 I decided to chip the egg and have a look. He had broken the inner membrane, there was a little blood, and I can still see his yolk sack on the stomach (im guessing this is the yolk sack). Now I feel I have rushed him and he isn't ready yet - but its day 34!

How do I make sure he is ok whilst he is still absorbing? There is only a bit of eggshell around his bottom end, the rest is exposed. I've taken him from the mother and put him with some wet tissue and a lamp on him. I don't have an incubator. He is quite vocal. Is he going to survive?

Thanks

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    Keep the duckling in a clean environment and keep the umbilical area moist (Neosporin might help). Hopefully all will absorb and no bacteria will enter the duckling's body. Good luck!

3. jdywntr

jdywntr Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 31, 2009
    Somerville, AL
    I had something similar happen about 1 week ago. Here is a link to that. https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=540541&p=3

Keep