How long to use medicated chick starter?

I am fairly new to this whole baby chicken thing, but I also give my chicks other things to eat and they do free range when they are all feathered in.
They love scratch, yogurt, tomatoes, cooked eggs, raw and cooked oatmeal, all kinds of veggies, seeds that fall from the other birds feed. bugs etc. etc. etc.
A variety is good, I think.

I just got some chicks in august and now there 7 weeks old, I lost one due to coccidiosis, and am treating the others with corrid 9.6%. They are doing good. My husbands grandfather had chickens here back in the 1940's or 1950's and apparently they all(thousands) got coccidiosis and died, could it still be in the soil? or Does all soil have the protozoa cocci in it? I'm going to treat them for 7 days. I am now feeding medicated feed.
Patti
'home to 5 easter eggers, 6 new hampshires, 5 rhode islands,7 delawares, 7 austrolorps and 2 barred rock chickens. 7 scottish highland cows 2 beautiful daughters, hubby, 1 turkey and 2 cats.'

Quote:
No, not all soil has it. Wet warm soil like a lot of us have in the southeast is probably the worst. But all it takes is a bird to fly over and take a dump for it to be in the soil.

There are also several different strains of the protozoa. Immunity to one strain does not mean immunity to all the different strains. And some strains are a lot stronger and more dangerous than others. With most strains, if you can keep them on a dry surface you'll be OK, but there is at least one strain that is dangerous even if it is dry. Good luck with yours.

Well, SHOOT! I just overspent on a 7lb bag of medicated! Should of brought home the 50lb. Thought medicated wasn't safe to feed layers, Affected their eggs:clap. Will research since horses are free range this time of year...Feed chicks in pen, Chickens Under vehicle, Porch, etc.:p:p:p