How many chicken deaths a year is normal?

atief1253

Songster
6 Years
Mar 2, 2013
Today we had a 2 1/2 year old buff campaign die. It looked as if she was shoved against the nest box and a hen sat on her. Three eggs were next to her and one was under her (not her egg). That's the short story. Over the past 3 1/2 years, we have had around 10 hens die, 1 egg bound, a 2 week old chick, 3 buckeyes which are frail and maybe 2 for no reason. 2 others were inbred not by me. Is this normal? We know how to take care of chickens, the area is clean, etc., and if one dies, there is never any death in others. Does anyone have any answers? I hope this is not too confusing. Thanks.

I don't have an answer for you as I am new to chickens but I feel your pain! I have had chickens since May and have lost 4 girls. They all free range and I understand the risk, just didn't think that much loss would happen that quick :(

Sorry about your losses. There really is no answer as to a number of losses that would be "normal" - there are too many variables that can go into things and the actual causes of death are quite varied as well - from environment to management to genetics. Understanding the cause of death is important in identifying those causes that are preventable (in regards to surviving stock) and in ways you can change your management practices to reduce risk factors. This can mean performing a necropsy yourself or, if you have a string of deaths close together or with alarming symptoms sending the bird off. I would put at least seven of the deaths into the category of worth more thought.

we have 20 hens and one rooster. Over the course of I'd say 2 1/2 years it varied from 15 to 19