how many Lbs. of feed needed

Tim in Pa.

In the Brooder
11 Years
May 21, 2008
SW Pa.
I'm trying to do some planning on future expenses for feed for my soon to arrive 25 chicks,As I am completely new to this (raised a few hogs and couple cows but never chickens) How many pounds of feed will I approx. need for the 25 a week or a month or whatever time frame you want to break it down to, as chicks and a ballpark amount at older ages? I know this will vary but a rough estimate is all I'm looking for at this time.

Thanks,Tim

I think you'll need 50 lbs for the first 6-7 weeks. Beyond that, I'm not sure since it depends what else they get to eat.

my nearly 3 week olds, 8 of them, eat about 5 pounds in 3-4 days (well they spill some and some I have to dump when its almost empty) ...they were out of the 20 pound bags at TSC
barnie.gif
hope it helps

Last edited:
I have 14 chicks, now 6 weeks old and I am to the end of my 3rd 25lb bag of starter. That averages out to 1.8 lb per day.
This of course includes the amounts wasted by them being messy eaters
gig.gif

Thats everyone ,WOW they eat alot more than I thought! I can just see the future now "Honey sorry no steaks this week we need to buy another sack of feed for the chicks"

Just like cows and hogs it depends on what breed you are raising. They all have different growth rates and thus different feed needs.

With my first batch this year I have 12 Cornish cross and 3 Barreds and they went through 50 lbs of food in the first 4 weeks. That averages about .84 pounds per bird per week.

Now that I have them moved to grower they are eating a bit more, that or I am just being weirded out by the larger feeder. But it seems that they are eating more. I think it will be about a bag every 2 weeks. Or approx 1.6 pounds a week.

I know that the Cornish are eating far more than my Barred Rocks. But it will give you an idea.

big_smile.png