How much space does 7 pullets and a cockerell need?

angeldoxie1

In the Brooder
9 Years
Jun 10, 2010
how big of a space should 7 hens and a rooster have? i have a light brahma cockerell and some 7 hens of different breeds, their actually pullets. we keep them in this little pen thing but as they grow bigger i think they might need more space especially seeing how big our cockerell is gonna get. in the flock theres this pullet whos the meanest and pecks the others around food. and we have these uhh...i dont know what to call them but the chickens fly on them and rest and in the mornings my brahma crows there. sometimes when one of the pullets jump off of it they land close to another one and then they start to peck at eachother or they do this stare off thing. im a noob when it comes to chickens so can anybody tell me what type of behavior they are displaying? and also is it because there isnt enough space for them???

also if we have 7 hens how many roosts do we need? im guessing 7 but before one of them layed eggs and another pullet pecked at one of the eggs and ate it. is there a way to fix that? my mom likes eggs but she doesnt want another hen to eat them before she does.

each chicken needs 4 sq. ft. in the coop and 10 sq ft in the run. They will peck at each other on the roost but when it is time to roost at night they will not care mine do the same thing. You only need one kind of long roost. I am not sure how to break a chicken from eating an egg but someone here should be able to. Good luck!!!

Last edited: