How much space should I give my chicks?

splitidol

In the Brooder
Oct 17, 2020
Hi! I’m trying to design a coop for my chicks but i’ve never built one before and don’t know how much space I should give them, I have 7 total ( 2 Plymouth Rocks, Cuckoo Maran, Golden Sex Link, New Hampshire Red, Buff Orpington, and a Silkie), Im scared i’m going to not give them enough room and I don’t want them to be stuck in our old rabbit hutch when they’re too big to stay in the brooder box :(

Hi! I’m trying to design a coop for my chicks but i’ve never built one before and don’t know how much space I should give them, I have 7 total ( 2 Plymouth Rocks, Cuckoo Maran, Golden Sex Link, New Hampshire Red, Buff Orpington, and a Silkie), Im scared i’m going to not give them enough room and I don’t want them to be stuck in our old rabbit hutch when they’re too big to stay in the brooder box :(
Welcome to BYC! :frow
Rule of thumb is 4 sq ft per bird in the coop and 10-12 in the run.
You will find, however, that 10 sq ft per bird in the run is simply not enough room for the vast majority of chickens. They like their space and the nastier personalities will relentlessly drive off others that they feel are too close. If the other chicken has no where to escape, they can be pretty severely injured.
How large you make your coop also depends on your climate. If you cannot build a large, covered run that can be winterized and you live where you get snow, you will want a larger coop, shooting for closer to 6 sq feet per bird.
If you can make a large, predator proof run attached to the coop, you can use 2.5-3 sq ft per birds in the coop provided you have enough roosting space.

At minimum a 4x8 coop but I know they won't complain about a 6x8 at all. 😉

It will also allow a little wiggle room for roost placement, food and water and ability to move around for you.

For the run I would go with at least an 8x10 but again mire space is always welcomed by the birds.