1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

How to clean a coop

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by jerzeelove, Nov 21, 2016.

1. jerzeelove

jerzeelove New Egg

Oct 3, 2016
    Hey, I am new to the chicken raising world, and I have a question. I have a coop that housed 7 hens until this past weekend. We built a new, larger one and still have the old. I will eventually have 12 in the new coop. I just ordered 5 chicks, and they should be here next week. My question is how do I thoroughly clean the coop to be used by the next group? I will not be putting the chicks in there until they are ready, but I want the coop cleaned and ready. Thanks in advance for the feedback!

2. PeepersMama

PeepersMama Overrun With Chickens

Obviously, get all the poop out; scrub the roost, nest boxes, etc. till they look as close to brand new as you can get them. Clean out all of the bedding (ALL of it) and spray either some bleach or vinegar on the floor, walls, and in any cracks that may exist. That will get out any bugs that may have been living in there. Since the newbies won't be living in it for awhile, leave all the windows open and if weather permits, let it freeze. Freezing it will make sure anything microscopic living in there will die. There will be others who are way more specific than me i.e., people who breed chickens and know heaps about biosecurity.