How to properly 'train' roosters?

Blue_Myst

Songster
10 Years
Feb 5, 2009
Well, my big boy is now just over two months old, and I think it's time I start researching this...

I've been handling the rooster almost everyday and he is a social little guy. From what I've read, I know that carrying roosters around and showing them who's boss is what I need to do, but when do I start this? Should I be picking him up even at this early age and carrying him around, or wait to see if he's a rebel?

Also, how do you keep your grown roosters looking at you as the big boss? Do you pick him up everyday, pet his girls to show you aren't a threat, what do you do?

I really want to him to turn out right. Thanks for any opinions/advice!

I'm new to chicken keeping personally, but grew up with an uncle who had a lot of roosters (why he had them is another subject and not one to get into here). I always, always heart and believe pretty well that as long as you handle the chickens a *lot* they'll be okay. Handle. Not treating them rough and teaching them to be scared of you, not cuddle and coddle them and teaching them that they can get you to do what they want. Just handle. Spend time with. Feed them occasionally, pet them sometimes, groom them -- pin feathers are itchy. Generally treat them with basic kindness and respect without turning into a sop, from the day you get them to the day they're dead, don't take poop, and you'll be okay with most of them.