Hunting guys and gals, have a ?

chickboss

Songster
9 Years
Mar 23, 2010
I want a rifle that would work well for both deer and elk. My brother and I were considering the Remington 700 young buck (because of the shorter stock) .243 but then my husband brought home a Remington model 700 tactical 6.8mm. After reading some I am thinking that the 6.8mm is going to be too small a round for elk. I need opinions because as you can tell I am a newbie. No debating please.

ETA: I am more than willing to hear about other options.. Thanks!

Last edited:
I would go bigger than a .243. Nothing smaller than a .270 or 7mm mag. Most of the .30 calibers should be good (30-06, .300mag, .308 mag, .338 mag).

Go look at ammo and see what is available in good supply and price. Decide how big you want to go from a .270. THEN decide your make.

Pay to have the gun sighted in. Shoot a LOT and practice form, breathing and trigger control with a small caliber like a .22 that won't beat you, and then only do a few "good" shots from the big caliber so you don't get kick-shy.

I'm a girl, and I LOVE my .270 (Remington something or other). Bought it used. Blew the heart in half of the buck I shot last year in a head on, slightly quartering shot. He still ran about 30 yards.

Err... well, the .243 is a smaller bullet then a 6.8spc, actually, and I've heard (no actual experience) that many elk have been put down with a .243, so I'd guess the 6.8spc would be sufficient. I'm thinking the bullet selection would be smaller with the 6.8, though I haven't shopped for ammo lately, and am not sure on the availability.
hu.gif

Last edited by a moderator: