I am new to keeping chicks, and unfortunately that has shown.

DR2M

In the Brooder
Apr 14, 2018
Mississippi
A few months ago I got 7 chicks from a neighbor. The chicks did fine, they were a week old when I received them. Once their feathers came in we had put them in a coop outside. It's a small coop but was a lot of room for them. And unfortunately we hadn't put a roof/cover over the top. They have been in the coop for 2 weeks till now. Last night something had gotten into their coop. When I noticed a chick lieing on the ground I went to investigate. 1 was alive, which I was happy to see, of other 6 however 3 were lieing on the ground, I didn't get to close of a look but it seemed as though feathers on they're face were missing, but their bodies were whole from what I could tell. Their was a piece off their chest missing, but there were lots of ants. The other three were simply just gone. A few feather were outside the coop but nothing more.

:welcome

Sorry your first post had to be one about losing your chicks. If you can post pictures of your setup, that would help us help you a little more in getting ideas on how to fortify it better. When you say you didn't put a cover on the coop, do you mean the building part of it where they go to roost at night, or did you mean the run - the outside part? It's hard to know what could have gotten them, as you don't have your location in your profile. But coons and fox are pretty common just about anywhere. Mink also come to mind, as they are my nemesis. This chicken keeping thing comes with a hard learning curve, unfortunately. I hope your lone survivor makes it and you can find her some company.