I did it...I am an official BYC member!

ChickieNikki

Songster
10 Years
Mar 27, 2009
1 hour west of St. Louis, MO
...and I'm about to be a 1st time chicken owner!
big_smile.png
I'm in MO, about an hour due west of St. Louis.

I ordered 25 day-old pullets from cacklehatchery.com, which is about 175 miles from me. Too far to drive, but they ship. I don't know what their shipping schedule or availability is, though--their outgoing message said they have hatches on Tuesdays and Thursdays. I ordered 5 Black Australorps, 5 Buff Orpingtons, 5 New Hampshire Reds, 5 Araucanas (Ameraucanas), and 5 Barred Rocks. I couldn't find a single pullet at the 3 farm/feed stores here in town, and this was the only hatchery that didn't indicate "NO availability until late May or later."

I have been researching for 3 years (which is how long it took Mr. No Way to finally agree to build me a coop. Now he's Mr. I Can't Believe I Let Her Convince Me To Do This). I chose those breeds for their docile temperament, their low likelihood of aggression, their laying capabilities, and their looks. I have 5 kids and I'm due in 3 weeks with the 6th, ages 8 and down, so this will be not only a way for us to meet our 6 dozen egg per week needs, but a way to get the kids involved in a family project that we can all enjoy for years. We homeschool, so it's a great idea as far as I can tell.