I have 5 hens that aren't laying yet. Will they this year?

TheLynchFlock

Hatching
Jul 27, 2016
Idaho
I have 2 Aruacana hens, 2 buff Orpingtons and an Amber White that are all about 5 months old. I assumed they would be laying by now but they aren't. Now that winter is approaching, do you think it is too late in the year for them to start laying? Will they wait until spring? I am new to raising chickens so I really don't know what to expect.

Thanks!

Are the combs getting bigger or more red? Those are signs that they will start to lay any day. They will also start squating when you aproach them. And have you switched to layers feef yet? Five months is a normal time to begin laying, I rarely have any that lay at the standard four month age. Depending on where you live the winter will have an affect on their laying. It will be slower with less eggs but I don't think they will completely stop or wait untill spring to start. Unless you live in Alaska, maybe. Good luck with your chickens and I hope you get some eggs soon :)

Last edited:
We live in north Idaho so winter can be pretty harsh. I haven't noticed their combs getting redder or bigger but I also didn't know to look out for that so I will keep a closer eye on it now. They do not squat when I walk up to them though. They have been on layer feed for awhile now too. I guess I will just keep hoping that it happens any day now. :)

Yeah, I would definitely keep an eye on their combs and continue the layers feed. I'm in Arizona so I don't have any experience with harsh winters like you do. So I can't say for certain that they will lay in the winter. Their possibly might not be enough daylight for them to lay any eggs. Hopefully someone who lives in your area or a place with similar weather can help you out more. Have you joined an Idaho State forum yet?

Last edited: