I have a baby Silkie!!!! Anything I should be doing? First timer

sookiesmom

Songster
9 Years
Mar 14, 2010
Ocean County, NJ
Will post pics in a little. I'm so excited!!!! Gotta admit that I didn't think any would hatch. Got 7 eggs that we hoped were fertile from someone I met at the 4H tent at a local fair. Is there anything I should do? Baby is under mom and she has another 6 eggs under her. Want to check other eggs as well. Of course she's very protective right now, so don't know if I should just leave her be or move her to check and remove broken egg from baby. Any help is much appreciated!!! This is my first time............I was shaking this morning when I heard the little thing. It's absolutely amazing!!!! Thank you God! Now just hope it's a girl. LOL

Thanks
Natasha
wee.gif

celebrate.gif

Last edited:
Hi I'm a first timer too. Chicks started hatching yesterday. There are 5 so far. My hen and chicks are in a laying box. I'm worried about what to do. do I take them out and put them in a container with a heat lamp or leave them where they are. How will they eat? And one day old and they are picking on each other what's up with that? Ok I'm not leaving this window til someone answers. I can't figure out how to get back to where I posted to see if anyone answered. How do I do that?

Hi, im waiting on my silkies to hatch today is day 21
wee.gif
congrats on yours its so cute, and you can subscribe to this topic at the bottom left side of this page and you will get an e-mail every time someone posts something
ya.gif