I have to cull the flock of my dreams

flowerchild59

Songster
9 Years
Apr 25, 2010
Southern IL
I finally am off crutches and walking after a summer of surgery . I was out of commission for 10 weeks or so with foot surgery and my husband diligently kept the new babies and older pullets (none more than 7 mos or so) fed and watered but not much else and find my mixed flock of ameraucanas, coronation sussex, lavender and blue marans, and araucanas rattly and with nasal drainage. I started them a few days ago on tetracycline as I had it on hand (after I wormed them with wazine). Today I detect a funky odor. I am a nurse. I know what funk smells like. And I have one with a bad eye. They were started on SMZ today.
I had new chicks last year from MM that were a mixed flock of brown egg layers. I loved them but wanted prettier birds with a better pedigree. I sold them to purchase from "breeders" locally and thru mail so I could start to concentrate on certain breeds that caught my interest. My breed envy got the best of me and sold those perfectly fine girls and started anew. I did a few weeks of quarantine but don't know how well my DH kept it up with me laid up with back to back foot surgeries this summer. UGGGGHHHH. I am so stupid!!!!!!!!!!!! I know deep down that my flock has coryza after reading and doing lots of research.
Today I called a vet, who called a vet, who called the state lab and they told me to take a couple of the worst looking ones in alive for exam and to have necroscopy. The cost is 50 dollars and goes up depending on how much in testing fees they have to do.
Should I just cull all and not take them for testing and burn the carcasses, or do I really want to know the truth and spend even more money. I spent some bucks this summer to see it all go down the drain????? I will probably spend 50 or more in gas alone just to drive up there. Of course I would clean amd disinfect the coop and leave it sit for months.