If not wry neck then what?

Jkoleff83

In the Brooder
Dec 8, 2022
I have a 1 year old hen I've been treating for little over 2 months now with selenium + vitamin e gel and poultry cell in water for what I thought was wry neck with no improvement. Her neck is not constantly twisted but she has spasms (especially when stressed, like I walk into the room, or I pick her up to give meds or change pads under her) that only last 60 seconds or so at a time. She eats fine, drinks fine, poops are all normal. No lice, mites, or any other sign/symptoms of something else being wrong. Is there something else that causes wry neck/star gazing or neck spasms that I can try treating her for?

If you can post a video of what she does, it might be helpful. You have to upload to another host and put the link here, so it can be seen.
I've had a couple of birds with weird neurological issues with no real known cause, so sometimes it's hard to know. If they can eat and drink well, they can do OK. I had a rooster with head twisting and shaking randomly, he eventually stopped doing it, it started at about 6 months old and finally seemed to stop around 5 -6 years old. No idea what the cause was, he's still here and so far it hasn't recurred. I had a hen suddenly develop a weird condition where she would go basically comatose under stress or when startled, also a couple of times it seemed like bright light caused it. After a few minutes she would revive and act fine. In her case I suspect epilepsy could have been the cause, and there's not a lot of info on that in chickens. She eventually died of a cancer, whether the two were related, I don't know but it was certainly a possibility.

If you can post a video of what she does, it might be helpful. You have to upload to another host and put the link here, so it can be seen.