Im a newbie to it all HELP!!

Widderpincess12

In the Brooder
Feb 22, 2015
OK I have a few questions....Im so new to this...I put my eggs in the incubator on Sunday the 22nd. I don't remember how many I put in there I think close to 12. most are Rhode Island reds and sex link hens, my rooster is a frizzle hah gonna be fuzzy chickies I hope....

We want them for eggs and such and as pets....my question is lastnight my kids and I candled some eggs, I saw like 6-7 and I can see the chick and the red blood vessels and in others I can see a darker spot but no blood vessels....should I be worried??? I put them all in at the same time my incubator is a little giant, its not a auto turner so my kids and I have been turning them 3 times a day, they are on their sides....is that a issue?? my temp is 99.5-99.8 however one day is got to 110 for a an hour or so, before my bf caught it and fixed it, my humidity is a 50-55%. would today be considered day 6? or day 5?....

are my chicks ok to hatch in the incubator?? I work 8-5 mon thru fri so If they hatched at home while im working I wouldn't know.....my bf works graveyard so hes home but sleeps...
another question, when they are starting the hatch whats the difference between PIP? and hatching??? Why can you not open the lid until they are completely done hatching???

thanks so much and sorry for all the questions...this is my first batch lol

As long as you have an accurate thermometer, which it seems you have, don't worry too much. The 110 for even a brief period would worry me. The chicks can stay in the incubator for up to a day or so - again, no worries.
You don't count the first day so they're on day 5. A full day of incubation is day 1. That means if you set them on a Friday, they hatch on a Friday.
Hatch is completely out of the egg. An internal pip is when they penetrate the inner membrane. A pip is the first crack in the shell. It will be a tiny bulge.

Hi :welcome