1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Improving Barnevelder Egg Color

Discussion in 'Exhibition, Genetics, & Breeding to the Standard o' started by mrjoltcola, Mar 12, 2017.

1. mrjoltcola

mrjoltcola Out Of The Brooder

Aug 29, 2016
    Middle Georgia
    I am wondering if it is practical to use Black Copper Marans to darken the egg of my Barnevelders. If so, how would I approach and how many generations and what kind of hatch sizes would it take? I have a flock of both, with several roosters each.

Last edited: Mar 12, 2017
  2. eggbert420

eggbert420 Chillin' With My Peeps Premium Member

Feb 15, 2017
    Texas
    I'm no expert and I've never had barnevelders, but I would try my darkest laying barnevelder hens x best looking bcm rooster. I do know that a bcm rooster will darken olive eggs .

3. CoosaChick

CoosaChick New Egg

Mar 10, 2017
    Alabama
    I just added some Barnevelders (and some welsummers) to my flock (they are still just chicks right now) and was thinking about maybe next year putting them with my Blue Copper Marans roo. I was thinking it may help with egg color but also add in some beautiful feather variations.
    I would love to know if anyone has done this or if you end up adding a bcm roo over yours. Please update with pics if you do!

4. Egghead_Jr

Egghead_Jr Overrun With Chickens

Oct 16, 2010
    NEK, VT