1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Incubating call ducks...HELP

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by MissD, Mar 20, 2012.

1. MissD

MissD Out Of The Brooder

Feb 12, 2009
    Hi! So I am a teacher and we have 3 call ducks in our mini brinsea advance. I originally set it for 28 days but as I have been reading it looks like calls hatch sooner. Day 28 would be March 28th. The automatic turning is set to stop on the 25th I believe. Should I stop it sooner? When? We set them on March 1st at around 1:00 pm. Thanks!!

2. country_girl011

country_girl011 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 7, 2011
    ohio
    call ducks hatch on day 25-26.
    it needs stopped 3 days before that.

3. CelticOaksFarm

CelticOaksFarm Family owned, family run

Sep 7, 2009
    Florida - Space Coast
    MissD, call ducks are some of if not the hardest domestic ducks to hatch well via incubation. Be prepared with so few eggs to not have any hatch, or just 1. Have you candled the eggs to know if they are developing?

4. MissD

MissD Out Of The Brooder

Feb 12, 2009
    Hi. Yes they are all moving inside the eggs. I have hatched them before and we had 3 out of 15 hatch. I just used the 28 day time table last time and was thinking maybe thats why most of them didn't hatch.

5. jbourget

jbourget Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 4, 2008
    CT