Incubator mishap

kjanes

In the Brooder
5 Years
Apr 27, 2014
Heartbroken. I've had to rehome my rooster and I wanted to hatch some of his eggs to see his offspring. I borrowed my father in laws incubator, had it set up for more than 24hours to get setting correct and consistent. Placed my eggs last Saturday and all was well. This is my first time by the way! Yesterday(Thirsday) I noticed temp went to 104, I adjusted and it was well the rest of the day holding steady at 100. This morning I woke to find the temp 118!!
1f61f.png

I know that is way too hot, obviously something is sticking with the thermostat. My question is can I be certain those embryos are dead and discard them this morning, or should I wait until dark and candle them to be sure? My Roo left Monday, and I understand there is still a chance of my hens laying fertile eggs so I'd like to get working on the incubator and get it going again before it's too late.

Your hens can lay fertile eggs for 2 weeks post rooster. The eggs sound like they are only a few days along. Too early to candle. I would just start over. You can gather eggs and just leave them on the kitchen counter while you work out the thermostat problem.

Heartbroken. I've had to rehome my rooster and I wanted to hatch some of his eggs to see his offspring. I borrowed my father in laws incubator, had it set up for more than 24hours to get setting correct and consistent. Placed my eggs last Saturday and all was well. This is my first time by the way! Yesterday(Thirsday) I noticed temp went to 104, I adjusted and it was well the rest of the day holding steady at 100. This morning I woke to find the temp 118!!
1f61f.png