Incubator questions

bookpyjamas

In the Brooder
5 Years
Nov 9, 2014
Hello everyone :)

I am new to this...
It is a personal project I am trying. I've never raised any chicken or quail in my life so this is my first time...
I have no incubator. My mum had some spare quail eggs and she gave me 12. she didn't want them. It is a really small project that's why I'm thinking of using........a desk lamp.
My country is hot and humid so 40W is okay... On the dot 37°C, I think that's 100°F.

It is placed in a box. Inside, there is also one of our ochoko cups, filled with water.

I just want to know if 1) is this possible and 2) will my lamp catch fire?! It is very hot! Being hot like that, it is going to be on for like 17 days or so. I really want to know about the safety. Leaving the house with a very hot lamp, there is the risk of fire.
What do you think?

Also, has anyone done that?

It's a really mini project. I am curious...
It might not even hatch, but I want to try ;_;

Help me quail masters!

Thank you everyone!

Last edited:
Not impossible, but very unlikely that you can maintain proper temperature and humidity given the circumstances. there is always the possibility of the lamp causing a fire. There are several threads on 'home made incubators' - try an on site search. Good luck.

Most lamps aren't made to safely run bulbs over 40w or 60w it should say right on the bottom of the lamp.

Without a thermostat you're going to have a really hard time keeping anything consistent enough to hatch chicks.

(I do still have some more questions, sorry.)
Ah. I see... The set up is haphazardly done. Thank you for pointing that out :)
Yes, looking through the homemade plans. If I get to make a good incubator and if mum has more spare eggs soon, I may try again.

I just seen the DIY plans and most use light bulbs, too.
They put the lights in storage coolers, somewhere else I saw them using Styrofoam box, and a thermostat was added, which I missed out.