Infected wound - Your advice requested

MadDanEccles

Hatching
10 Years
May 22, 2009
Hi all.

Apologies if I'm giving too much detail, but bear with me. I'm not sure how much of the history is strictly relevant.

I've recently taken on four wyandotte bantams - one gold laced, one partridge, one colombian and one with "indeterminate heritage". They belonged to a friend who is progressively moving over to marans and indian game. I'm a total beginner and it was just a case of "take your pick" from the existing flock and I chose the ones I liked. To the best of my knowledge, they are all between 12 and 18 months of age.

I've now had them in my garden for nearly two weeks. To me, they all look and act healthy, although I have not yet had a single egg from them. I assume that this may be because they are either broody or are still settling into new surroundings without the presence of a cockerel. As far as I can tell, they are all drinking and eating regularly. The food and water levels certainly seem to be dropping. In the last few days, following a week of heavy showers, they have also cleared a dust bath at one end of the run.

Now to the point in question...

What is causing me distinct concern, as of a couple of hours ago, is the health of the colombian. Having seen a gap in her plumage, I picked her up and held her upside down. The feathers around her vent are matted together with some exceptionally hard faeces. I snapped off what little I could, as gently as possible, but it was clear that even this initial fix around the periphery was causing her discomfort. All of the other birds seem fine, so this appears to be an isolated issue. All their plumage looks perfectly healthy. This may have been building up since before I took ownership of the birds or it could have happened over the last few days.

There is still quite a bit left to remove and the skin area around the vent looks either bald, raw or infected with a yellow/green tinge
sickbyc.gif